The Task Force Co-Chairs

About Our Co-Chairs

The Kentucky Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention Task Force structure starts with the front line support of our Co-Chairs. They are the champions of collaborative cardiovascular and cerebrovascular efforts throughout the Commonwealth. The Co-Chairs are recommended by the Kentucky Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention Task Force Steering Committee and approved and appointed by Kentucky Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention Program

Nathan S. Kusterer, MD

Cardiologist, Baptist Health Medical Group, Cardiology

Co-Chair Since: 2021

Nathan Kusterer, MD is originally from Kingsville, MD. He attended the University of Maryland for undergraduate education before earning a medical degree from Saint George’s University. Dr. Kusterer completed an internal medicine residency, and a cardiovascular disease fellowship at the University of Kentucky, where he also served as chief resident and chief fellow.

Following graduation he joined Baptist Health Lexington Cardiology. There he practices non-invasive general cardiology with special interests in atrial fibrillation, systolic heart failure management, cardioembolic stroke, and echocardiography, including TEE.

Outside of work he enjoys spending time with his wife and two kids. Other hobbies include traveling when his schedule allows, trying new restaurants, running, snowboarding, and golfing.

Dr. Kusterer hopes to continue improve the recognition, prevention, and treatment of cardiovascular and cerebrovascular disease while serving on Kentucky Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention Task Force.

Dr. Kerri Remmel Co-Chair profile picture 2020

Kerri S. Remmel MD, PhD

Neurologist, UofL Health Comprehensive Stroke Center Director

Co-Chair Since: 2006

Dr. Remmel is the Chair of the University of Louisville Department of Neurology, as well as the Director of the University of Louisville Stroke Center. She received her PhD in Communication Disorders and Linguistics at Louisiana State University. In 1985 she opened her own private Speech Pathology practice. It was her experience in rehabilitating patients that she developed her passion for treating stroke patients. This propelled her to seek a medical degree. In 2000 she joined the Neurology faculty to develop the stroke program at the University of Louisville.

Dr. Remmel is a Board Certified Neurologist and fellow of the American Academy of Neurology. She serves as the State Stroke Champion for Kentucky and has been successful in working with the State Department for Public Health to assess the knowledge of stroke prevention, treatment and rehabilitation in Kentucky and implement plans to develop stroke systems of care within the state by working with the state government to pass Resolutions in the Legislature. In addition, she serves on the local board of the American Heart Association, National Stroke Association, and is a member of the Stroke Belt Consortium.
Under Dr. Remmel’s leadership the University of Louisville Hospital Stroke Center has been recognized as a national model of excellence by becoming the first healthcare facility in Kentucky to receive national accreditation as a Primary Stroke Center, awarded by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations. In 2006 U of L was one of only five hospitals in the nation to receive the American Heart Associations Get With The Guidelines-Stroke Annual Performance Achievement Award for providing appropriate, evidence-based care to patients at least 85% of the time.

She is a funded researcher in acute stroke treatments and serves as the principal investigator on numerous clinical trials. Her individual research efforts focus on cryptogenic stroke and disparities in stroke risk factors.

In 2005 Dr. Remmel’s dedication to teaching and education was recognized nationally through the award of one of the most prestigious mentoring honors. She was designated a McCann Scholar by the Joy McCann Foundation for her excellent mentoring in medicine and praised by the McCann Foundation for creating a highly effective team approach to caring for stroke patients. She has also received the Academy of Neurology National Teaching Scholarship and Excellence in Teaching Neurology Awards.